Posted by: Democratic Thinker | July 16, 2010

Samuel Adams—Nil Desperandum—To James Warren (December 9, 1772)

American Correspondence

Samuel Adams, December 9, 1772, encourages James Warren who is distributing the Report published by the Committee of Correspondence the previous month. Warren had reported the day previous; “I shall not fail to exert myself to have as many towns as possible meet, but fear the bigger part of them will not. They are dead; and the dead can’t be raised without a miracle.”

Nil desperandum. That is a Motto for you and me. All are not dead; and where there is a Spark of patriotick fire, we will enkindle it. Say you, that the Tories spare no pains to disparage our Measures? I knew they would, and should have greatly doubted of the Importance of the Measures if they had not been much nettled.

To James Warren.

BOSTON., DEC 9th 1772.

MY DEAR SIR


Samuel Adams.

I HAD the pleasure of receiving your Letter of yesterday date, this Morning, by the Hands of our Friend, Mr. Lothrop. Am much obligd to you for the pains you took in distributing the Letters sent to your Care. I am very sorry to find in your Letter anything that discovers in you the least approach towards Despair. Nil desperandum. That is a Motto for you and me. All are not dead; and where there is a Spark of patriotick fire, we will enkindle it. Say you, that the Tories spare no pains to disparage our Measures? I knew they would, and should have greatly doubted of the Importance of the Measures if they had not been much nettled.

The Sachem of Chesemuttock is a Bastard, and has none of the Blood of his ancient Predecessors running in his Veins, he is pitifull, contemptible. I am glad your promising young Genius has undertaken to chastize the Hingham Writer, though I could wish he had a fitter Subject to employ his pen. Who knows but he may rise to be one day, under God, the Savior of his Country. You “wish that our Measures would take a general Run.” So do I; and I believe they will. Could you think that Lancaster would fall in with them? If they should, what Prospects would you not entertain of other Towns? I have a verbal Message from a sensible Whig there, that he expected they would act with Spirit, and that even the Tories there exclaim against the Independency of the Judges. I He signed “From a Lover of Truth and his Country.”

The Selectmen of Medford have unanimously agreed to call a Meeting of their Town. Charlestown have met, and appointed a Committee to consider the Independency, and report three Weeks hence. Our Pamphlet was read and upon the Motion of your Cousin, the Consideration of it was referrd till March Meeting! I expect every Moment to hear from Marblehead; they had their Meeting the day before yesterday; it is reported that they have appointed a Committee to write to ours, after the good Example of Plymouth, and that Coll. Orne and Mr. Gerry are of the Committee, two Gentlemen whose good Sense and Integrity as well as firmness I think may be much relyed upon. Roxbury I have Reason to hope will terminate Matters well at their Adjournment next Monday. There has been no Dissension among the friends of the Cause here. None between my Brother Otis and myself. It is likely this is one of the Tory Lies at Plymouth. It may arise from some of the Whigs refusing when nominated to be of our Committee; but I believe most of them were then unaware of the evil Tendency of their Conduct. Mr. Cushing has frequently met with the Committee, and appears to be hearty in forwarding the Measure. I am informd that your own Minister refused, when desired, to read the Letter of this Town; You will excuse me if I whisper in your Ear, that in my opinion it would have done as much Good as one of his Sermons, the Benefit of which however you would not have been deprived of.

The Tories are determined to play a poor hand to the best Advantage; they are therefore for instructing the Representatives to prevent the Independency of the Judges taking place; but it must be done by enlarging their Salaries, which would be a tacit acknowledgment of a Right in the Crown and making a mean Bargain. This Manoeuvre in my Opinion is most to be apprehended. I rest with Esteem
Yours affectionately

S. ADAMS.

A tip o’ the hat to The Moral Liberal.


 

Categories